This week, I’m introducing MmmMonday! Each week, I’m going to try a recipe from one of my cookbooks, let you know how it goes, and give a quick review of the book. You can join in too by linking up with something awesome you cooked this week!

The first book I’m reviewing is Tammy Credicott’s latest, Paleo Indulgences. Her last book had gluten-free but not necessarily paleo recipes. This one includes only grain-free recipes, and they’re also dairy free. So, true Paleo recipes.

The photography is gorgeous… I wanted to make SO many of the recipes, just flipping through the book. But the categories the recipes are divided into don’t make perfect sense to me. Not a huge deal though, especially since a visual index is included (you can see thumbnails of all the recipe images all on just a couple of pages).

I tried the lemon poppyseed muffins, which are made from simple ingredients I already had on hand. I’m always excited to try other people’s tried and true coconut flour recipes, because it can be tricky to work with and create recipes with (especially since local humidity does play a role). Coconut flour is way cheaper than almond flour, and you need much less of it per recipe typically, so if I can have a list of go-to coconut flour recipes I’ll be a happy lady. Copious amounts of eggs are generally used, and finished products can often end up too-eggy tasting or overly dry.

This one was neither. The texture was decidedly muffiny, nothing like eating a souffle pretending to be a muffin. And the lemony flavor hit the spot for Anneliese and me, both of us huge fans of the sour fruit.

2012-09-17 18-47-51 - IMG_9231

Anneliese “helped” me by coloring pictures and taste-testing the lemon and poppy seeds.

The recipe was simple and quick to mix up, and in no time I had filled my muffin cups. The recipe made 6 muffins (2 scoops of my cookie scooper in each) with an extra little lump of batter, which made an awesome little cookie.

2012-09-17 18-54-28 - IMG_9243

It was hard for me to resist snatching one of these before I took a picture for this post…the kitchen smelled so good.

2012-09-17 19-23-45 - IMG_9253

And while it was hard for me, it was impossible for Anneliese. She snuck over while I was snapping away, and timidly chose one.

2012-09-17 19-24-19 - IMG_9261

Holding it like a prize, she looked up at me and asked, “Eese have muffin?” Sure, baby. Have the muffin. Haha! She liked it so much that she ate two right away, and the next morning, the very first thing she asked me for was a muffin.

2012-09-17 19-24-26 - IMG_9265

See? It’s a REAL MUFFIN. The texture is awesome, and they were great the next day too. Beyond that, I can’t help you. They were gone.

2012-09-17 19-29-51 - IMG_9299

5.0 from 3 reviews
Paleo Lemon Poppyseed Muffins
  • ⅓ cup coconut flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • ¼ cup (real) maple syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (I actually used vanilla bean paste, because I'm obsessed lately)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice - about 1 lemon
  • 2 tsp lemon zest - about 1 lemon
  • ¼ cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tsp poppy seeds
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Sift the dry ingredients together into your mixer's bowl.
  3. Add everything else except for the coconut oil and poppy seeds. Mix to combine.
  4. Pour in the coconut oil, while the mixer continues to run on low.
  5. Add the poppy seeds.
  6. Divide the batter into 6 muffin cups. Silicone ones work great, and are reusable.
  7. Bake 21-15 minutes.
  8. Cool in the muffin cups, then remove and serve.
I rewrote the recipe in my own words, adding my notes. This recipe was created by Tammy Credicott for her book, Paleo Indulgences. The book rocks and you should buy it! I received a complimentary review copy of the book, but if I got a chance to flip through it at a friend's house, it would definitely be on my "to buy" list.

30 Comments on #MmmMonday: Paleo Indulgences & Paleo Lemon Poppyseed Muffins Review

  1. Emily says:

    This recipe looks great!

    It says bake for 21-15 minutes. Do you mean 15-21 minutes or 12-15 minutes? I do not want to over bake them.

    • how funny! what a weird typo… and I just made these again the other day and didn’t notice. They take around 20 minutes in my experience (it could vary depending on humidity levels and stuff like that though). I’d set a timer for 20 and check at that point.

  2. […] Poppyseed muffins are a traditional favorite, and this recipe from Joyful Abode does the original justice. Real maple syrup and vanilla bean paste make this muffin exceptional, […]

  3. […] most baked goods DO travel well)? I know I do, and Tammy is an excellent Paleo baker. Remember my Paleo Indulgences review? This chick knows her way around grain free ingredients and understands when to use what, and how […]

  4. […] pizza. The recipe is actually originally from Tammy Credicott's Paleo Indulgences (which is a FANTASTIC book I already reviewed), but we used the “pizza 2″ topping suggestions in Italian […]

  5. Michelle says:

    I just made these with chia seeds instead of poppy and used an extra tsp. of lemon juice as I did not have lemons to grate. They were delicious. Even my hubby and 3 yr old loved them. Thanks!

  6. […] All you need to do is eat the foods that our body was so lovingly designed to eat. The food that has been provided for us by mother nature such as game meat self-fish vegetables wild fruits nuts and […]

  7. […] Recipe I got From Emily from Joyful Abode who reviews the recipe here. It is originally from a cookbook by Tammy Credicott called Paleo Indulgences (hmm that sounds […]

  8. Allison says:

    Looks tasty! Any reason why one could not double the recipe and make a full dozen? Six would last about 5 minutes here!=0)

  9. […] I like to try recipes with zest…last week’s #MmmMonday post had lemon zest, and this week’s has orange. Maybe next week’s will have lime! (Kidding. Sort […]

  10. Steph says:

    Why aren’t these in my face right now? 🙁

  11. Mommy Boots says:

    I’m kind of obsessed with healthy muffins right now. I just made some clean eating pumpkin spice muffins that were really good. These look delicious!

  12. Veronica says:

    Awesome job. These look terrific and ill def check out the book. Thanks for sharing xo

  13. Lashawn says:

    I have to try this for me and Pookah!

  14. I just received the book this week and tried the Gingerbread loaf recipe, I loved it and it makes the house smell wonderful. I will definitely try the lemon muffins next. Thanks for the review 🙂

  15. Baby Making Mama says:

    They look so good!! I will try these if you say so!! What’s your neat recipe widget thingy? I’ll add that to the ones I link on your posts. I made something new last week!

  16. Jill says:

    great idea! i always love your posts on recipes! they are beautiful, informative, and fun to try!

  17. Hannah says:

    Oh my goodness those look/sound amazing! I have everything except poppyseeds too…and I need to make a spice run anyway…on the list with paprika and sea salt they go 🙂 I’m sure Clara would be all over these too.

  18. Abby says:

    These look delicious! Great photos. I’ve never baked with coconut flour but I’m definitely going to try this recipe. I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this recipe:  

as seen onas seen onas seen onas seen onas seen on

© 2016 Joyful Abode | Designed by OSN